Thursday’s Tenuously Titled Tailgate Tasting

Arkansas State Review

Sorry for missing out on the Miami game. I was out of town and couldn’t make it in for the game. If I was there, I would’ve done something along the lines of Cane Syrup Glazed Ribs.

As far as the opener against Arkansas State, the pork chops were the only thing about that Saturday that didn’t leave me with a mouthful of Shermatoza. I was the least impressed with the beer-brined pork chops. Sure, they were the most tender, but they didn’t have all that much flavor to them. I ended up audibling and went with the brined chops and then putting either the mustard/rosemary crust or maple glaze. They turned out nice. Personally, I was a fan of the Creole mustard-crusted chops.

Now, on to this week’s opponent:

Army: Army Beer Brats

Ingredients:

Beer

Bratwurst

Hot Dog Buns or Your Favorite Large Roll Cut to Accommodate Weiner

Onion

Vegetable Oil

Soy Sauce

Salt

Pepper

Louisiana Hot Sauce

Sauerkraut (optional)

Ketchup, Mayo, Mustard (optional)

Pretty simple, no flair stuff here. The key is to getting real bratwurst. You can go all Johnsonville if you prefer, but as for me and my house, I shall grill only veal and pork brats. Got-dam they’re good.

Put two of those disposable aluminum pans together (in case the first leaks) and pour enough beer in there to at least halfway cover your brats.

Put the beer, sliced onions, one tablespoon of oil, two tablespoons of soy sauce, one tablespoon of hot sauce and a couple pinches each of salt and pepper in the pans. Place on hot part of your grill. Once it starts bubbling, toss in your brats for a few minutes (5-10 should be fine). Remove your brats from the beer and place on hot grill approx. 8 minutes, turning once during cooking.

Serve on bun/roll with onions, sauerkraut (optional) and condiments (optional). I like a nice whole grain German style mustard, personally.

The beauty of brats on the grill is that it’s near impossible to fuck them up. I’ll tell you next week how I did so.

KP

One comment on “Thursday’s Tenuously Titled Tailgate Tasting

Leave a Reply

